RSS Feed

Alex Gillies

Posted on

I have just ventured into the field of printmaking. Who knows how long it will last? I might be absolutely shit at it!

As is my usual process, I have begun the laborious job of research. I have read books, looked at pictures and trawled the web. What I have found is that there are a bucket load of abysmal printmakers out there. Some are skilled but boring, some are interesting but sloppy, many are old fashioned or just old. Two of the women in my ‘group’ have explained that printmaking is considered a craft by many people. Particularly collagraphy, which is where I’m headed.

Anyway, I digress.

Title: Permanence
Year: 2013
Size: 29 x 39cm
Edition: Open

In my trawling I happened upon a young man who’s work I rather like. Bizarrely he lives only a couple of hours drive from me. It’s a small world.

Alex Gillies is a woodcut artist who creates single pieces, woodcuts as the art themselves, artist books and he is the drummer for the band ‘No Anchor’.

Title: Balancing Act
Year: 2013
Size: 58cm x 61cm
Edition: Open

A self taught artist, he learned from books and experimentation. A man after my own heart. He has created album art for his own and other bands, t-shirts, skateboard decks and images for tattoos. He started exhibiting in 2009 and has already outstripped many established artists in number of exhibitions and quantity of work.

Harmony Singles
Cover Art Alex Gillies

I really like his choice of subject matter.There is something quite tedious about the subject matter of many printmakers – trees and fauna and bugs and flowers and trees and landscapes and trees and to be fair Mr Gillies does venture into the ‘birds and sunsets’ cadre a little, but mostly he carves what he wants.

Title: This Is How Memories Are Made
Released: May 2013
Details: 16 Page hand bound, hardcover book. Includes an exclusive woodcut.
Edition: 20

I love the framing of his work and the focus of the image. And his colour! I find that printmaking is such a purist art form that mixing colours is frowned upon. Bollocks. Rules are meant to be broken. And it’s art for fucks sake, there shouldn’t be any rules anyway.

Title: Death Rides A Horse
Year: 2008
Size: 40cm x 35cm
Edition: 2

Did I mention the artist books?

Title: Luddite (Woodcuts By Alex Gillies 2009 – 2010)
Released: June 2010
Details: 16 Page double concertina book.
Handbound plus exclusive woodcut
Edition: 20 (sold out)

I think that I might have a small crush. Seriously. And he likes Durer! I’m definitely going to hang out in Brisbane more often.

 

 

http://againstthewoodgrain.wordpress.com/

About Penny

Artist, Graphic Designer, Book nerd, Web Designer, Back seat computer nerd

Leave a Reply

